The Importance of “Dressing Up”

Picture this: it’s been a long week, you’ve just checked the last task off your gigantic to-do list, all you want to do is relax. You wake up the following day and out on the fist old pair of sweats and a t-shirt. You feel comfortable, but do you feel great?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not dumping on sweats and t shirts, spending all day in your pyjamas and just being totally lazy every now and then. But that’s the catch, it really should only be now and then. I don’t want to sound superficial, but we all feel the impact clothes and proper grooming have on our mood and our confidence levels. This absolutely should not been intended along the lines of “You are worthless if you leave the house without makeup” or “You’ll never be fashionable without that designer bag” that are so often the hidden messages we are bombarded with.

No, my point runs a little deeper.
The way I see it it boils down to self-confidence and self-respect. Why are we ok with wearing old ratty clothes at home but most of us aren’t willing to wear them in public? Do really value people’s opinions and visual comfort more than we value our own?
I absolutely don’t believe in this. My home/leisure wear, sure it isn’t as nice as some other pieces in my wardrobe, but they’re things that I still feel good in, and wouldn’t be embarrass if I had to quickly dash out the house. And I think this should be your baseline, show yourself the same respect you show others when you get dressed, even if you’re not going anywhere. Because if one thing is sure, you should always dress for yourself.

Furthermore, I’m sure we’ve all heard how having a morning routine and getting ready, picking out an outfit in the morning can help with productivity. But I think that that shouldn’t be your main goal, dress in a nice outfit because it’s fun, because it makes you feel good and because you deserve to look and feel your best every single day. And remember you can be both comfortable and stylish!

Do you do this? Let me know!

Lascia un commento

Progetta un sito come questo con WordPress.com
Comincia ora